1883 public laws – Ch. 412 Sec. 4

Source: expert

The chapter text below is provided for context. Scroll down to see the text of the law.

CHAPTER 412 An act to establish graded schools in the town of Washington, North . Carolina, The General Assembly of North Carolina do enact :

That Charles M. Brown, Charles K. Gallagher and George V. Credle, W. C. Mallison, Charles F. Warren, Jos. L. Winfield, E.S. Hoyt, W. A. Blount and W. T. Farrow, be and they are hereby constituted a board of trustees for the graded school for the whites, and that Henry Basco, Hampton Bonner, Haywood Hunter, Henry S. Jones, Charles Blackledge, J. W. Peyton, J. M. Williams, Sylvester Dibble and Romeo Little, be and they are hereby constituted a board of trustees for the colored: school. The first three trustees named herein for each school shall hold office for one year, the second three for two years, and the third three for three years, from the first Monday in May, one thousand eight hundred and eighty-three. That any vacancy occurring in said board shall be filled by the appointment of the board of commissioners of [the] town of Washington, and when any trustees term of office has expired, the said board of town commissioners shall appoint his successor, who shall hold office for three years: Provided always, that all the trustees for white schools shall be white persons, and the trustees for colored schools shall be colored.

The On the Books website is a product of a digital scholarship project and will not be maintained in perpetuity. The site will be reviewed August 31, 2023 (three years after creation). Depending on use, funding, and maintenance required, the site may be decommissioned and archived at that time. The text corpora created for this project will be preserved in the Carolina Digital Repository.
Proudly powered by WordPress | Theme: Shree Clean by Canyon Themes.