1891 public laws – Ch. 562 Sec. 1

Source: model and expert

The chapter text below is provided for context. Scroll down to see the text of the law.

CHAPTER 562 An act to incorporate the Tarboro School Board. The General Assembly of North Carolina do enact :

That W. S. Clark, S. S. Nash, O. C. Farror, N. M. Lawrence, M. L. Hussey, Thomas Ruffin, F. S. Royster, David Lichtenstein, Henry Morris, S. E. Speight, George Mathewson and Victor E. Howard, their associates and successors, are hereby created a body politic and corporate under the name and style of The Tarboro School Board, and by that name may sue and be sued, plead and be impleaded, contract and be contracted with, acquire by gift, purchase or devise, real and personal estate, and hold, exchange or sell the same, and to do all acts necessary for its perpetual succession, the maintenance of the graded school in Tarboro for white, and the graded school in Princeville for colored children, and the supervision of the public schools in district number one in Edgecombe county, and to that end may pass such by-laws and make such rules and regulations a8 to the number of corporators, the officers and their duties, the mode of filling vacancies, the care and disbursement of funds, and all other necessary matters as may not be inconsistent with the constitution of the state or the United States.

The On the Books website is a product of a digital scholarship project and will not be maintained in perpetuity. The site will be reviewed August 31, 2023 (three years after creation). Depending on use, funding, and maintenance required, the site may be decommissioned and archived at that time. The text corpora created for this project will be preserved in the Carolina Digital Repository.
Proudly powered by WordPress | Theme: Shree Clean by Canyon Themes.