1965/66/67 session laws – Ch.7 Sec.1


The chapter text below is provided for context. Scroll down to see the text of the law.

CHAPTER 7 AN ACT TO ESTABLISH CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS. The General Assembly of North Carolina do enact:

G.S. 163-103 is rewritten to read as follows: 163-103. Congressional Districts Specified. For the purpose of nominating and electing members of the House of Representatives of the United States Congress in 1966 and every two years thereafter, there are established the following congressional districts, from each of which one representative shall be elected: District 1 shall consist of Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hertford, Hyde, Jones, Martin, Northampton, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, and Washington Counties. District 2 shall consist of Edgecombe, Franklin, Granville, Greene, Halifax, Johnston, Lenoir, Vance, Warren, and Wilson Counties. District 3 shall consist of Carteret, Duplin, Harnett, Lee, Onslow, Pender, Sampson, and Wayne Counties. District 4 shall consist of Chatham, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, Orange, Randolph, and Wake Counties. District 5 shall consist of Caswell, Durham, Forsyth, Person, Rockingham, and Stokes Counties. District 6 shall consist of Alamance, Davidson, and Guilford Counties. District 7 shall consist of Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, Cumberland, Hoke, New Hanover, Robeson and Scotland Counties. District 8 shall consist of Anson, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Richmond, and Union Counties. 24 District 9 shall consist of Alleghany, Ashe, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Davie, Rowan, Stanly, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yadkin Counties. District 10 shall consist of Alexander, Avery, Burke, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, and Iredell Counties. ; District 11 shall consist of Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, McDowell, Macon, Madison, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, and Vancey Counties.

The On the Books website is a product of a digital scholarship project and will not be maintained in perpetuity. The site will be reviewed December 31, 2024. Depending on use, funding, and maintenance required, the site may be decommissioned and archived at that time. The text corpora created for this project will be preserved in the Carolina Digital Repository.
Proudly powered by WordPress | Theme: Shree Clean by Canyon Themes.